PHARM PHRESH, YO

how this site works, musically.

In MUSICblog on October 10, 2009 at 03:22

Something that all those interested in my music ought to know is that my songs are free agents.  They have no allegiance to any particular recording.  The recordings are secondary representations of ever-changing organisms.   The best window into them is live performance.    
Ever since I began writing songs, I have felt a need to defend their right to evolve.  It always struck me as bizarre how album recordings defined (and often confined) songs.   We’ve all been to shows and compared the performance  to the album.  The album has become a bit of a bloated currency.   I think it is a somewhat recent phenomenon for songs to be shackled to their own past identities.  For the record, no recording of a song is as vital as the next time I play it.

So i invite you to observe the lives of these songs, explore where they have been and wonder where they might go.  in THE SONGS page, click on the song titles to interact in a chronological format, with the newest recordings always added at the top, and older versions and the lyrics below.

Leave a comment